Festa dei Sette Pesci or Feast of the Seven Fishes, preview.

The Feast of the Seven Fishes, or La Vigilia, as it is also known, is a largely southern Italian tradition brought to North America by immigrants. Traditionally, the meal was consumed on Christmas eve. The feast or meal was fish and seafood only. No meat. Clearly based on early Christian ideals where the exclusion of meat and the inclusion of seafood and fish was a means of purification in advent of the birth of………what’s that guys name again?

Local Flounder poached with garden Valencia tomatoes and Taggiasca olives finished with Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

Local Flounder poached with garden Valencia tomatoes and Taggiasca olives finished with Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

Traditionally, it was 7 different courses of fish preparations. Some people do more courses, although in this day and age, where people are squeezed for time and money [and fish is expensive], fewer courses are maybe more preferable . I’m one of those people and I’m going to try to honor the Seven Fishes, though four or five courses  is more realistic. I’m also going to break with tradition by doing this on Christmas Day.

I really have’nt set a menu yet but I have committed to some culinary guidelines. For me, say, four different fish and four different cooking techniques. Also, the only vegetables I use are the ones I have grown in my garden. I am also going to try to limit myself to four particular regions of Italy. Beyond that, I’ve committed to nothing but salt cod, squid ink pasta and a smoked fish of some kind. You get the idea. Check this blog out later. Thanks for reading.

Raymond

022

Monkfish in marinade with rosemary, garlic and pepper flakes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

021

Seared Sea Scallops.

 

Leave a Reply

