Feste dei Sette Pesci or The Feast of the Seven Fishes continues here.

IMG_1746

This is as about as white as it got for Christmas around these parts. Brussels sprouts taste sweeter after a good freeze. I’m definitely going to try to use these in tonight’s cooking.

IMG_1757

A warm antipasto of garlicky olive oil poached shrimp, Christmas morning picked baby carrots and radicchio.

IMG_1763

The sauce is made from tomatoes that I grew in my little kitchen garden. I canned the sauce on August 23. It was a very good year for growing tomatoes.

IMG_1769

Squid ink spaghetti with squid in slow-cooked, spicy tomato sauce. I remembered that I had bought and later dried those little bright red spicy peppers. More warmth than heat, which is what I like.

IMG_1771

Here is salt cod simmering in a court bouillion of shallot, celery, carrot, herbs and a splash of wine.

IMG_1776

Brandade……..or salt cod stirred into olive oil mashed potatoes. accompanied by, in this case, roasted garden brussels sprouts and sage-black pepper scented olive oil. Now there is only one more course to take care of and I have bigger fish to fry. In the meantime, have a peaceful season. And thank you for reading about my efforts.

Leave a Reply

