A Garden Runs Through It.

IMG_0623

At this point in late winter/early spring, there really are not too many outdoor garden tasks. But, we can always go take a sneak-in peek and check out what’s going on.

IMG_0616

These are the first of the season chives. They need a few more weeks before I can snip them. This is one the ways how  know spring has arrived.

IMG_0617

Garlic is already pushing it’s way up despite the lingering snow. I planted the garlic back in November. If all goes well, it won’t be pulled until July.

IMG_0622

And it looks like my heirloom Radicchio di Treviso survived the winter. Apparently, it comes back again and again. I did not know that until recently. In my little kitchen garden, it has competition for space. I want to grow heirloom peas in that spot. I wonder if the radicchio will survive this grim reaper’s cut.

IMG_0624

After a gruelling look-see….and speaking of peas……..a classic spring dish, rice and peas, for supper. These are the last of the peas that I held onto since last summer. I have to kiss them good-bye. Now, I have to grow more. And remember to clear my pantry for spring. I’m still hungry.

IMG_0632

This is supper. Anytime I get to use something I have grown in my garden, it makes me happy. I rubbed the striped bass with fennel seed. No ordinary fennel seed either, but Sicilian wild mountain fennel from my sea-level garden in the city. Everything else followed the fennel’s lead. I also used in the fish marinade microplaned garlic and lemon zest, Aleppo pepper, scallion and thyme. With chunks of lemon. I toasted the fennel seed and ground it before rubbing the bass with it.

IMG_0630

This really is clear the fridge out………..these are the last of my garden carrots. Kiss those good-bye too. I roasted these carrots with cumin. Toasting and grinding your own spices is the way to go. I’m going to miss these carrots.

IMG_0634

Eat like a peasant. Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “A Garden Runs Through It.

Leave a Reply

