Full Contact Gardening Meets Full Contact Cooking.

IMG_0819

It has been a long, cold winter in Boston. Spring is in though and my little kitchen garden is busy. These are garlic chives and come back every year.

IMG_0825

These are going to be onions and scallions. Too bad, I won’t have any shallots this year.

IMG_0826

Spring chives………I use them on everything.

IMG_0844

Garlic. These lived under 5 feet of snow this winter. Yes, I know, I shoveled it.

IMG_0836

Asparagus. I planted this 4 years ago. This is first time to pick any so this on the menu tonight. Asparagus Surprise.

IMG_0840

These little seedlings are kale. Cavolo Nero Toscano or Tuscan black kale. They will be thinned out as they grow. Fingers crossed. I also stuck in the ground seeds for fennel, parsley, chervil, romaine, brocolli rabe, kohl rabe, mustard and wild fennel.

IMG_0794

Radishes all lined up.

IMG_0791

Radicchio……..right now it is nice and sweet. As the season advances, the radicchio gets more bitter.

IMG_0842

Somehow peas have struggled for me this year. I’m blaming the cold spring.

IMG_0846

Wild arugula……..this is the spicy stuff and this will be on the menu tonight also. First of the season wild arugula. Next to it…..wild fennel. Too early to pick that just yet. I grow this for the pollen……..fennel pollen from my garden, how cool is that?

IMG_0853

Tonight’s salad bowl candidates……arugula, dandelion, lovage, radicchio and fresh herbs.

IMG_0858

Garden asparagus and chives with some farm eggs becomes……….

IMG_0865

Frittata Primavera or spring asparagus and herbs baked with farm eggs. All it needs is a glass of Prosecco. To celebrate Spring, of course.

IMG_0873

This gratin is made with potato, roasted fennel and olive oil. I used no dairy. And I bought the potatoes and fennel. But hey, I did plant some fennel seed to day as well as wild fennel. This gratin reminds me of Provencal cooking. Simple and rustic.

IMG_0874

Roasted rutabaga. I have never grown rutabaga but turnips are on the list. I bought this rutabaga. This one comes from Prince Edward Island. They know how to grow these things up there. After roasting, all it needs is a splash of olive oil and black pepper.

IMG_0876

Skillet roasted codfish with lemon, garden chives, olive oil and garden greens.

IMG_0877

Eat like a peasant.

2 thoughts on “Full Contact Gardening Meets Full Contact Cooking.

Leave a Reply

