Radicchio, Finocchio and Pinocchio.

IMG_1101

A healthy garden is going to have lots of earthworms or nightcrawlers. This one reminds me of the science fiction movie, Dune, with the giant worms coasting through the desert. This one measures roughly nine inches which is nowhere near the size of the worms in Sting’s world.

IMG_1109

Thyme in bloom. This is one that comes back every year.

IMG_1111

I cut off the old growth radicchio and now have these fresh shoots. But it looks like it is spreading its roots under the ground. And that could be a problem later. I just don’t have the room. I want radicchio but not an overgrowth. It will have to relocated to live elsewhere. Or I could just dig it up and plant new seeds.

IMG_1138


What’s the story, morning glory?  Just germinated morning glorys. Hopefully, they will be colored blue.

IMG_1116

These pole beans are pioneers in a new experimental plot. They are called “Meraviglia di Venezia”. They are a yellow Romano type bean and I want them to grow at least 10 foot tall. This is my first time trying this variety out so I am very excited. But the reality is that I most likely will not see a pickable pole bean until the second half of July.

IMG_1119

These are little bright and shiny baby spinaches.

IMG_1136

At last, the onions are beginning to look like onions. In the meantime, there are scallions everyday and soon enough, garlic scapes.

IMG_1122

This is baby Florence fennel. Finnochio. It seems to be settling in nicely. The fennel fronds are developing nicely. Fingers crossed because they are company for the pole beans in the experimental plot along with kale and radicchio. I am not going to be the one who explains the Italian slang word “finocchio”.

IMG_1132

This is wild mountain fennel from Sicily. It just explodes out of the ground. I think it will grow to about 5 foot, maybe more, in my little garden. This one does not produce a bulb but rather it attracts the honey bees. In fact, I try to gather the pollen for my own use in the kitchen at home. And afterwards, I gather up all the seeds. The fennel pollen flavors up my fish cooking at home. It is an essential ingredient in the classic Roman porchetta. I like to grind the fennel seed and combine it with sea salt for fennel salt for use as a table condiment or seasoning. And that’s just for starters.

IMG_1137

I am not too sure what this is. It could be a melon, a zucchini or courgette or a pumpkin. We’ll have to wait and see. It’s a surprise and if it does not grow, well, then that’s the surprise. Let’s go have supper.

IMG_1139

These Massachussets sea scallops are whats for supper. They will sit in a quick marinade while the grill gets hot. I got them from Red’s Best at South Station farmers market in Boston. In my humble opinion, Red’s Best sells, arguably, the freshest fish in town. This is what makes fish cooking exciting. I was able to use rosemary from my garden in the marinade.

 

IMG_1141

About the only way these scallops could taste better would be if they had been threaded onto a rosemary skewer. Thanks for reading and looking. Eat like a peasant.

Leave a Reply

