In My Solstice Garden

IMG_1343

Summer is officially here. This is a section of what is happening in my garden for the start of summer. The raspberries are starting to turn black.

IMG_1345

One big raspberry bush. There are going to be lots.

IMG_1355

Blueberries on the way too.

IMG_1349

The onions have keeled over. This is what they do and they are on time. You can set your watch by them. Right now, all of their energy is being channeled into swelling the onion. The leaves need to turn color before I can pick them. Really, though, you can pick them anytime but I want to try and store some.

IMG_1350

Very soon, I will have fennel pollen……barring any mishaps.

IMG_1351

Kohl rabe is starting to be kohl rabe.

IMG_1352

Some of these peas have reached over 6 foot tall. These are whats for breakfast. You absolutely cannot buy this flavor. I’m facing east, the sun is coming up.

IMG_1356

Pole beans are beginning to run.

IMG_1357

I’m a sucker for this type of thing. Now, I have to find space for it.

IMG_1360

It’s a grasshopper, ……. grasshopper!

IMG_1376

Tomatoes are beginning to flower. This year I put in Brandywines, Green Zebra, Piroform and Chocolate cherry tomatoes. All from Grateful Farm in Franklin, Massachussetts.

IMG_1372

Baby fennel not quite ready.

IMG_1375

A mystery reseeded squash, maybe pumpkin……who knows. Nasturtiums in the background.

IMG_1378

Potatoes. I might have missed the boat with these but they are in the ground and being potatoes. So far, so good. Look at those big hairy leaves.

IMG_1379

Leeks……….thanks for looking at my blog. Have a good summer.

Leave a Reply

