The Way of the Gardener

IMG_1434

From a cook’s viewpoint, gardening has taught me the virtue of being patient. So I have learned to cook with the rhythm and flow of the garden I have planted. My garden is inspired by the cooking of southern France, northern and southern Italy to a larger extent. Photoed above are just transplanted golden raspberries. If all goes well, it might be a year or two before I see fruit. Patience.

IMG_1492

Another exercise in patience. Just picked Spanish Rioja garlic which was planted at the end of last November. Seven months later………I have this. But beyond patience is low-maintenance. It lived under an embankment of snow during the winter so there is nothing to do. Then in the spring, keep it weeded if you have a minute. The low maintenance factor is very important for me.

IMG_1488

Gardening has given me an appreciation of how our food happens. These miniscule one inch long pole beans will end up being larger than my finger. All this energy or chi is fascinating to me.

IMG_1490

Gardening in New England is challenging. New England just recorded its coldest spring in 18 years and Boston has just posted its third wettest June. However, this baby red Romaine lettuce is looking promising. Hopefully it wont bolt in the next few days when we are to have another heatwave in Boston.

IMG_1439

Fava beans…..I have never had any luck with them but they can and will grow in New England. This year I planted later……..which is what the gardening books say not to do…….and so far they look great. This is the first seeding of a series that will extend into fall. The cool thing about gardening is that you can never know it all so there is lots of knowledge to absorb, if you are into it.

IMG_1447

These leeks have good chi or energy. Chickweed is growing wild around them. It is an edible weed that is good for you.

IMG_1450

Squash blossom season is here and this plant looks like it cannot get out of the ground fast enough. For the record, I use no chemicals at all. H2O, yo! I have an organic seaweed fertilizer somewhere but I never remember to use it. I do make my own compost, however.

IMG_1458

Making ones own compost……….people have written books. I have still to read one. I save kitchen scraps and yard waste and let them stew or cure until it turns black. Thats it. I have 4 different compost heaps at different stages of ripeness. In the photo above, I hope it will be a cauliflower.

IMG_1480

Having good compost is the key. This parsley stem can tell you that.

IMG_1482

One year old fig tree. Maybe next year, I’ll get a fig. Thanks for reading. Eat like a peasant.

Leave a Reply

