After the Heatwave.

IMG_1525

I don’t know if it is a first for Boston, but it is for me in Boston…..experiencing five days of back-to-back ninety degree weather. These peas took a beating. Their cool weather days are over. If they stop producing, I will dismantle the trellis support and make a new bed for Autumn vegetables. Despite the cold start to Spring, I’m happy with my yield. Six pounds of peas does not sound like a lot. I was also very satisfied at how tall they grew…….seven foot tall. “Alto Telefono” was the name of this heirloom varietal.  It looks like it will be a roll of the dice for Napoli carrots, Chioggia beets and  purple top turnips next. Roots, so that means radishes too. I have two weeks to fix the bed. On my gardening schedule, I plant roots after the Full Moon.

IMG_1529

This coriander plant is standing over four foot tall. It is flowering and producing little, fresh green coriander seeds. I will eat what I can and save the rest. I like to toss the whole green seeds into summer salads or crush them to make a paste or rub for that peasant style of seafood cooking I enjoy. Coriander tea is good for you too. And if my black cumin ever grows, I have the foundation for a spice blend for the winter time. This coriander will be pulled out the ground right before the Full Moon.

IMG_1512

A sneak-in preview of a baby cauliflower. In some parts of the globe, this is quite the treasure. I’m just glad it has not been assaulted by cauliflower worm, moth, fly, rot, mold, beetle or blight. And a heatwave too. I just want to eat the cauliflower raw dipped in some good olive oil. Maybe some coriander seeds alongside to complete the moment.

IMG_1517

Little tiny inch long cucumbers. In another few days, they will be ready. And, in this heat, I’m ready for Tabbouleh.

IMG_1519

I hope the red oak leaf lettuce will not bolt during this heat. Not all of my lettuces survived. The lesson for me is if New England summers are going to be hotter, I need to find another variety or two of lettuce that can endure summer heat and still produce good looking heads of lettuce. Iceberg lettuce sounds great right around now.

IMG_1496

Just picked and peeled Spanish Rioja garlic. Eat this now while the sugars are still running and you will never look at garlic the same way ever again. I pulled two dozen of these and still have another later developing variety in the ground. The beds where I had the garlic and onions have had fresh compost laid down. They are ready for planting on this New Moon starting Monday. I want to plant more Tuscan kale, brocolli rabe, swiss chard, fennel, spinach and fava beans. Thats my a-list. Now pick three. Choose wisely. The real politic of the real estate does not permit me to plant everything. But nature loves a chancer.

IMG_1510

This guy made me laugh. He wallowed in the pollen for a good twenty minutes and got his face all dirty. I think he is taking the day off from all that bee stress. Between the expression on his insect face and the geometry of his antennae, you know he is having a wicked good time. I hope he tells all his friends about that cool garden he was in…….if he can remember his way back.

 

IMG_1530

This is “Napolitano” basil. This is the one to use for Caprese salads, pizza and tomato sauce. You can use it make pesto too but technically and classically, basil pesto is traditionally made in Liguria and the basil employed to make this sauce is a “Genovese” style. And if you are going to make pesto this summer, make sure to buy the Italian pine-nuts, not the Chinese ones, nor the Spanish ones. There is a difference. In taste and price. It’s okay to make the pesto without nuts too. I do it all the time and I have no nut allergies. Remember, eat like a peasant. And stay close to your food chain.

Leave a Reply

