The Monsanto Anti-Garden.

IMG_1552

At last, the big day is here. Picking pole beans. There is never a lot at the beginning. You have to pick them to encourage more growth. But soon there will be lots of these “Marvel of Venice” heirloom pole beans.

IMG_1554

This is a mystery squash plant that I did not start. It came from the compost heap. I would really like it to be a pumpkin or something, but not a zucchini. It looks like a zucchini but it is still early.

IMG_1558

Gathering fennel pollen. I like to use this as a seasoning for southern Italian and Sicilian fish ideas.

IMG_1560

It looks like the bee has the same idea as me.

IMG_1562

I will have to pick through the fennel pollen. It is the yellow flecks I am interested in. I heard of an interesting term recently for the style of gardening I do. Micro gardening. It would appear that more and more urban dwellers would like to exercise more control over their food and this is one of the reactions. This trend can also be witnessed at farmers markets. People want to see more transparency with food production and especially food labeling. And speaking for myself, I would like to see no genetically modified foods in use anywhere. Micro gardening in the city is anything from a window box to a container to a small plot. And you get to grow whatever you want in your available space.

IMG_1564

The fractal sunflower. It is interesting to say the least about watching or tracking the development of a sunflower. I’m already a hit with the neighborhood birds after my blueberry crash. They got them all. I bet they cannot wait for fresh sunflower seeds next. I had an interesting visitor this week, an American goldfinch. I hope he likes sunflower.

IMG_1567

These are black mustard seed pods getting organised to go snap, crackle and pop. Usually, I let them fall to the ground to re-seed for the Autumn so that it can be included as part of a salad bowl.

IMG_1568

On the larger tomatoes, I have flowers but not really a lot of fruit dropping yet. Soon, barring mold, blight, rot, worm, beetle, fungus, mite or vitamin deficiency, I might see a big tomato. This one is doing well and is another compost heap gift which happened to sprout and grow in a location that would not be a hindrance. I do not know what variety of tomato it is but it is heirloom and indeterminate. At it’s current rate of growth it will need more support than it already has. Hopefully, I can identify it at a later stage.

IMG_1569

On the other hand, the smaller grape and cherry tomatoes are doing fine……so far.

IMG_1555

Happy nasturtium blossoms.Thanks for reading. Garden like a peasant and eat like a peasant while you are at it.

Leave a Reply

