How to go Organic.

IMG_1581

I imagine my little kitchen garden. And I work with nature. I want lots of bees smothered in pollen, drunk on it. Yee-haw!

IMG_1600

How to go organic…….there are lot of ways……….start with compost and earthworms. And thank busy soil organisms hard at work for you in your space.

IMG_1587

Take care of your seed. Bless it when you sow. Observe the weather. Keep a garden journal. Know the cycles of the moon.

IMG_1601

Weed early and often. Enjoy the gifts of the season. Save your seeds.

IMG_1598

And while you are doing all of that and more besides, try to learn how to make polenta. Four Star Farms are on my blogroll. Give them a turn.

IMG_1599

Polenta is the widow-maker of northern Italian cooking. Organically speaking, who feels it, knows it.

IMG_1608

Most of all, going organic is the right thing to do. And everything that you grow always tastes better anyway

IMG_1607

And everything you make and cook will taste better.

IMG_1580

From my little space…….cauliflower, pole beans and garlic.

IMG_1609

Going organic means celebrating the seasons. I love striped bass caught in New England. For me, it is the best of summer with lots of vegetables. Credit to RedsBest Seafood at Dewey Square Farmers Market in Boston for this immaculate striped bass. I braised the fish in a version of Ratattouille with Poblano peppers and ate it with lots of basil from my garden. Eat like a peasant.

8 thoughts on “How to go Organic.

Leave a Reply

