Another Thyme, Another Place.

IMG_0665

I was happy to see that my little thyme plant was one of the survivors in my garden. It’s resilience to crusty New England winters reminded me of another one or two of its virtues. It grows great in certain parts of the southern Mediterranean and is especially tasty with fish. My garden thyme is a magic carpet.

IMG_0669

Tavira is a fishing town located in the eastern Algarve region of southern Portugal. And when you absolutely have to have the freshest fish……Well, this is how we do it.

IMG_2880

Find the freshest fish that you can. Leave it whole. Small fish works better. Light a fire.

IMG_2875

Any fish with a gammy eye, you don’t touch.

IMG_2877

Cooking utensils are simple. All you need is a decent pair of tongs to fit your grip and a fish spatula. In fact, a fish spatula is just about the last word for outdoor grilling. Get a decent one. One that won’t melt. Use sea salt that you enjoy.

IMG_2882

This is my first attempt at grilling in 2014.

IMG_2885

What I like about outdoor grilling is the unpredictability. But, altogether, I’m pleased with my blistered fish.

IMG_2887

Different sized fish will have  different cooking times. And the grill cook is always responsible for his fire.

IMG_0675

This fish is called scup, or porgie.

IMG_2895

Grilled fish, off the fire, Tavira style.

 

 

IMG_0512

And then, back to reality. Eat like a peasant. Thanks for reading.

